Published on 12-05-2022

The team will be in training at Calpe from December 6 to 16

As usual, Team TotalEnergies will be heading to southwestern Spain to prepare its 25 riders for the 2023 season.

Pre-season training, an important first gathering

Pre-season training is always a pivotal moment for professional teams. They present a rare opportunity for everyone, cyclists, staff and partners alike, to get together and lay the foundations for the upcoming season. Our riders can expect a busy program over the next ten days.

“The first gathering allows us to welcome the new riders joining the team,” said Sports Director Benoit Genauzeau. “I’m thinking particularly of Steff Cras and Jason Tesson, who are coming from outside organizations. But we mustn’t neglect the induction of our three young riders from Vendée U, who are passing a new milestone in their careers.”

Benoit Genauzeau stresses the importance of this training period for the whole team and for the staff who will be involved throughout the season: “This training session is really important, because it gives us time to talk to each other, to communicate and build a connection. The riders and the staff can either catch up or get to know each other, with some social events and group outings, which are varied so that all the cyclists get to spend time together on their bikes. The 2022 season was long and intense, and everyone needed to recharge their batteries. Now it’s time to get back together and work hard!”

Testing, analyzing, planning

A large part of this training period will be devoted to tests and analyses to “measure their level”, as Performance Manager Maxime Robin tells us.  “We’ll carry out the same tests as last year to determine the training thresholds. The main focus this time is endurance. We’re lucky to have the benefit of the warm Spanish weather to get in some solid hours’ training. At the same time, the program has a whole physical preparation and strength training component. After the tests and interviews with the various specialists, the aim is to start building racing programs and to adapt training individually.”

By training in southeastern Spain, the racing cyclists enjoy the best working conditions to start the next season, as Maxime Robin clarifies. “The weather is much better in Calpe, particularly in December. We can train for longer more easily in the heat, as we recover more quickly. The body recovers better in these conditions. The other advantage involves the difficulty level of the routes, which can be very varied. We can easily add hill climbs to the sessions, which isn’t always possible for the cyclists at home.”

The team has already planned a second session at Calpe from January 11 to 20 to put the finishing touches to preparation and make any final adjustments before the 2023 season kicks off.

The 25 racers

  • Edvald Boasson-Hagen
  • Maciej Bodnar
  • Thomas Bonnet
  • Mathieu Burgaudeau
  • Jérémy Cabot
  • Steff Cras
  • Víctor de la Parte
  • Fabien Doubey
  • Sandy Dujardin
  • Valentin Ferron
  • Fabien Grellier
  • Emilien Jeannière
  • Alan Jousseaume
  • Pierre Latour
  • Lorrenzo Manzin
  • Daniel Oss
  • Paul Ourselin
  • Peter Sagan
  • Julien Simon
  • Geoffrey Soupe
  • Jason Tesson
  • Anthony Turgis
  • Dries van Gestel
  • Mattéo Vercher
  • Alexis Vuillermoz

Publié le 05-12-2022

L’équipe sera en stage à Calpe du 6 au 16 décembre

Le Team TotalEnergies se rendra, comme à son habitude, dans le sud-est de l’Espagne, afin de préparer la saison 2023 avec ses 25 coureurs.

Stage de pré-saison, un premier rassemblement important

Les stages de pré-saison sont toujours des moments charnières pour les équipes professionnelles. Des occasions rares où tout le monde se retrouve, coureurs, staff et partenaires pour poser les premières pierres de la saison à venir. Un programme chargé attend nos coureurs pour les 10 prochains jours.

« Ce premier rassemblement est l’occasion d’intégrer les nouveaux coureurs qui rejoignent notre effectif » indique Benoit Genauzeau, Directeur du Sport « Je pense notamment à Steff Cras et Jason Tesson qui arrivent de structures extérieures. Cependant, il ne faudra pas négliger l’intégration de nos 3 jeunes coureurs issus du Vendée U qui passent un nouveau cap dans leur carrière. »

Benoit Genauzeau précise l’importance qu’a ce stage pour l’ensemble de l’effectif et le staff qui collaboreront toute la saison : « Ce stage est au combien important, car nous pouvons prendre le temps de se parler, d’échanger et de créer. Les coureurs et le staff se retrouvent ou se découvrent grâce à des moments de convivialité et aux sorties en groupe qui seront variées pour que tous les coureurs se côtoient sur le vélo. La saison 2022 a été longue et intense, tout le monde avait besoin de se ressourcer. Place maintenant aux retrouvailles et au travail ! »

Tester, analyser, programmer

Une grande partie de ce stage sera consacrée aux tests et aux analyses afin de « Voir où les coureurs se situent » comme nous l’indique le Responsable de la Performance, Maxime Robin. « On va réaliser les tests qu’on a déjà pratiqués il y a un an pour déterminer les seuils d’entraînement. La thématique principale de ce stage sera l’endurance. On a de la chance de pouvoir profiter de la chaleur espagnole pour faire du volume. Il y aura en parallèle toute une partie de préparation physique et de musculation au programme. Une fois les tests et les entretiens passés avec les différents pôles, l’idée sera de commencer à construire les programmes de courses et d’adapter les entraînements pour les uns et les autres. »

En partant s’entraîner dans le sud-est de l’Espagne, les coureurs peuvent bénéficier de meilleures conditions de travail pour lancer la prochaine saison comme nous le précise Maxime Robin « Il fait plus beau à Calpe, surtout en décembre. Le volume d’entraînement peut être augmenté plus facilement sous la chaleur, puisque la récupération se fait plus rapidement. L’organisme récupère mieux dans ces conditions. L’autre avantage se situe au niveau des parcours qui peuvent être très variés. On peut facilement rajouter du dénivelé dans les séances ce qui n’est pas le cas pour tous les coureurs à leur domicile. »

L’équipe a déjà programmé un second stage à Calpe du 11 au 20 janvier prochain pour peaufiner la préparation et les derniers réglages avant d’entamer la saison 2023.

Rappel des 25 coureurs

  • Edvald Boasson-Hagen
  • Maciej Bodnar
  • Thomas Bonnet
  • Mathieu Burgaudeau
  • Jérémy Cabot
  • Steff Cras
  • Víctor de la Parte
  • Fabien Doubey
  • Sandy Dujardin
  • Valentin Ferron
  • Fabien Grellier
  • Emilien Jeannière
  • Alan Jousseaume
  • Pierre Latour
  • Lorrenzo Manzin
  • Daniel Oss
  • Paul Ourselin
  • Peter Sagan
  • Julien Simon
  • Geoffrey Soupe
  • Jason Tesson
  • Anthony Turgis
  • Dries van Gestel
  • Mattéo Vercher
  • Alexis Vuillermoz