Published on 09-14-2022

Niki Terpstra will bow out at the end of the season

On Tuesday evening, Dutch rider Niki Terpstra issued a statement on social media announcing his retirement from professional cycling at the end of the season.

The sport bids farewell to an exceptional champion

After turning professional in 2007, Terpstra scaled the heights of the sport at Milram before joining Quick-Step in 2011, with whom he won two Monuments, Paris-Roubaix in 2014 and the Tour of Flanders in 2018. The following year, the Dutch champion decided to move to TotalEnergies (previously Direct Energie). He will be leaving the peloton at the end of the season, after a sixteen-year career and many wins.

Niki Terpstra : “It was an incredible journey

“I have decided to retire with professional road cycling at the end of this season. Despite options to continue, I feel it’s time to close this incredible chapter of my career and focus on new challenges on and off the bike. I could not have imagined that at the age of 8, while starting to ride my bike, I’d have the chance to one day be part of the professional peloton and race all those iconic races. To then also win monuments such as Paris-Roubaix and Tour of Flanders is still mind blowing to me and my family. I can’t wait to fnish this season on a high note, as some great events are still on my agenda. Later more on that! It was an incredible journey and I like to thank everyone who supported me during my career. Bus listen, I am not done yet with cycling. Of course I will continue to race… stay tuned!”

An exciting career

  • 22 victoires
  • Paris-Roubaix (2014)
  • Tour of Flanders (2018)
  • E3 Saxo Bank Classic (2018)
  • National Championships Netherlands (2010, 2012, 2015)
  • Dwars door het Hageland (2014)
  • 3th stage of Critérium du Dauphiné (2019)
  • 10 top10 on the monument races

Niki Terpstra has spent four seasons in the Vendée colors. He has had his fair share of crashes and injuries, and the strength of character to overcome them all. And in 2019, Niki scored the precious points that clinched the team’s first place in the UCI Europe Tour ranking.

  • 3th Kuurne-Bruxelles-Kuurne (2019)
  • 2th Dwars door het Hageland (2019)
  • 2th Paris-Tours (2019)

Publié le 14-09-2022

Niki Terpstra tirera sa révérence à la fin de la saison

Le Néerlandais, Niki Terpstra, a annoncé mardi soir sur ses réseaux sociaux qu’il mettra un terme à sa carrière à l’issue de la saison.

Une page se tourne pour un champion d’exception

Passé professionnel en 2007, Terpstra a découvert le haut niveau chez Milram avant de rejoindre l’équipe Quick-Step en 2011, où il remporta notamment deux Monuments, Paris-Roubaix (2014) et le Tour des Flandres (2018). C’est en 2019 que le champion néerlandais décida de rejoindre le Team TotalEnergies (Direct Energie auparavant). Après 16 années de carrière et de nombreuses victoires à la clef, Niki Terpstra quittera donc le peloton professionnel à la fin de la saison.

Niki Terpstra : « Ce fut une aventure incroyable »

« J’ai décidé de mettre un terme à ma carrière de cycliste professionnel à la fin de la saison. Malgré les options pour continuer, je pense qu’il est temps de clore cet incroyable chapitre et de me concentrer sur de nouveaux défis sur et en dehors du vélo. Je n’aurais pas pu imaginer quand j’ai commencé le vélo à 8 ans, avoir la chance de faire un jour partie du peloton professionnel et de participer à toutes les plus grandes courses. Avoir gagné des Monuments comme Paris-Roubaix et le Tour des Flandres est quelque chose d’incroyable pour moi et ma famille. J’ai maintenant hâte de terminer cette saison en beauté car il y a de beaux événements à venir. Ce fut une aventure incroyable et je tiens à remercier tous ceux qui m’ont soutenu au cours de ma carrière. Mais je n’en ai pas encore fini avec le vélo. Bien sûr, je continuerai à courir… Restez connectés ! »

Une carrière riche en émotions

  • 22 victoires
  • Paris-Roubaix (2014)
  • Tour des Flandres (2018)
  • E3 Saxo Bank Classic (2018)
  • Champion des Pays-Bas (2010, 2012, 2015)
  • A Travers la Flandre (2014)
  • 3e étape du Critérium du Dauphiné (2019)
  • 10 top10 sur des Monuments

Niki Terpstra aura passé 4 saisons à défendre la tunique vendéenne. Pas épargné par les chutes et les blessures, il aura marqué les esprits par sa force de caractère qui lui permis de toujours se relever. On se rappellera également qu’en 2019, Niki avait inscrit de précieux points pour permettre à l’équipe de remporter le classement Continentale Pro.

  • 3e de Kuurne-Bruxelles-Kuurne (2019)
  • 2e d’À travers le Hageland (2019)
  • 2e de Paris-Tours (2019)